Arizona Motorcycle Helmet Laws
A motorcyclist in Arizona knows how exhilarating it is to ride through the desert, enjoying the beautiful scenery. The experience becomes more exciting when you feel the wind on your hair and the breeze on your face. Unfortunately, most states in America do not have the pleasure of enjoying the experience in totality because they are required to wear a motorcycle helmet.
Arizona is among the few states allowing motorcycle riders over 18 years to ride a motorcycle without wearing a helmet, both for the driver and passenger. However, this rule does not apply to persons under 18 years.
Despite this law, Arizona still encourages its riders to wear protective eyewear if their motorcycle doesn’t have a windshield. Today, we will delve deeper into the helmet laws in Arizona and explain the rules and requirements. We will also look at the most common injuries after a motorcycle accident and who you can contact.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements in Arizona
As mentioned earlier, Arizona does not place too much emphasis on wearing helmets for people over 18 years but only requires those under 18 years to have them on at all times. Whether as an operator or passenger. The specific motorcycle helmet law is found in Arizona Revised Statute ARS 28-964.
The state, however, understands the eyes need to be protected to allow the rider to operate the motorcycle effectively. Thus they require riders to wear protective eye gear and give options of what to use, such as:
- Transparent face shields
Despite this law being in the Arizona Code, various institutions continue to openly disapprove of the no-helmet regulation. They argue that it is a step back from reducing serious injuries and fatalities in case of a motorcycle accident.
The Legally Acceptable Helmet to Use in Arizona
According to injury facts, wearing a motorcycle helmet prevents fatalities by 37% for motorcycle operators and 41% for passengers. In addition, motorcycle helmet laws reduce head injury risk by 69%. These statistics support the use of helmets, but not all meet the standard to offer the protection needed. The state of Arizona requires you to wear a helmet approved by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT).
The approved motorcycle helmet law states that one must be of good quality, fit securely on the head, and can be easily fastened. The helmet should also have a visible mark showing it certifies and complies with the ADOT regulations. To avoid run-ins with law enforcement officers, ensure the helmet is lightweight, compatible with the shape of your head, comfortable, and durable.
Common Motorcycle Injuries
In most cases, motorcycle accidents result in severe injuries because the motorcyclists lack an external protective body to absorb shock during a collision. The most common injuries victims of a motorcycle accident experience include:
- Head injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Broken teeth and jaw damage
- Strains and sprains
- Road rash
- Broken bones
After experiencing these injuries, you need all the help you can get to seek compensation for the harm caused by the accident. It is advisable to contact an experienced Arizona Personal Injury and Wrongful Death lawyer.
Contact an Efficient Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney
Do not bear the financial and medical burden on your own after a motorcycle accident, yet you can receive compensation from the at-fault party. An Arizona Motorcycle laws accident attorney can help you with the case by:
- Investigating the accident
- Providing reliable legal advice
- Negotiate with the insurance company
- Represent you in any Arizona court
The Sorenson Law Firm houses the most efficient attorneys you would want to handle your case in Arizona. We have over 100 years of combined legal experience to help you receive justice and get the maximum compensation available. Contact us today.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the penalty for not wearing a motorcycle helmet in Arizona?
A person under the age of 18 years caught without a helmet while being carried on a motorcycle or riding it will be fined between $25–$75 for a first-time offense. If they do it repeatedly, they will receive a $75 or above fine.
Who is legally required to wear a helmet in Arizona?
Arizona only requires people under 18 years to wear a helmet, whether they are operating a motorcycle or being carried as a passenger. However, those over 18 must wear protective gear for their eyes.
How can you prevent a motorcycle accident in Arizona?
In Arizona, you can prevent a motorcycle accident by:
- Wearing proper safety gear
- Practicing defensive driving
- Avoiding using the motorcycle while under the influence
- Taking a motorcycle safety course
What is the worst consequence of not wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle in Arizona?
The worst consequence of not wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle is the increased risk of suffering a severe accident or dying. A motorcycle does not offer outward protection to the rider and the passenger when an accident occurs.
Does the new Arizona motorcycle law affect helmet-wearing?
No, the new Arizona motorcycle law doesn’t affect helmet-wearing. The new law passed in September 2022 only allows motorcyclists to overtake cars that have been stopped. However, the rider must be heading in the same direction and in the same lane as the vehicles.