Arizona car seat laws aim to protect all child passengers in vehicles by requiring adults to adhere to the stated age, weight, and height requirements.
Sadly, car accidents are the leading cause of preventable deaths of children in Arizona. The child passenger safety seats and seat belts drastically reduce a child’s risk of injury or death.
Keeping up with the latest child restraint and seat belt laws is critical to save lives and avoid penalties. Today, we will dive deeper into explaining the three types of car seats recommended by the state and the primary car seat laws in Arizona for 2023.
Three Types of Car Seats Required by Law
Despite the numerous car seats available, the law requires you to use the ideal seat for your child’s age, height, and weight. The following are the car seats or restraint systems drivers can use in Arizona.
- Rear-facing car seat: These seats position the child facing the back of the vehicle and protect the child’s head, neck, and spine.
- Forward-facing car seat: When installed correctly, this car seat offers additional protection to the child by distributing the force of the crash to the child’s body, reducing the risk of a neck or head injury.
- Booster seat: Used by older children to help position them higher up in the seat. This adjustment allows the seat belt to fit properly across the body and provides better protection in case of a car crash.
Some car seats have additional features such as a headrest and convertible abilities. But, Arizona car seat laws only require the child restraint to be well fitting and able to secure the child.
Arizona Car Seat Laws and Penalties
According to Arizona’s revised state laws, all children under eight years must be secured in a child restraint system or device that meets federal standards and installed per the car seat manufacturer’s instructions.
Satisfactory child restraints include car seats, boosters, and built-in or add-on restraints. The table below gives you the ideal age, weight, and height requirements for child passengers.
|Requirement (Child Restraint)||Age||Height||Weight (Pounds)|
|Booster seat||5–8||<4 feet 9 inches||<40 pounds|
|Car seat belts only||>8||>4 feet 9 inches||>40 pounds|
Notably, the Arizona Automobile Association recommends that all children who do not meet the height requirement but have passed the weight requirement should remain in restraint until they grow taller or outgrow the seat.
Penalties for Violation
The penalty for violating car seat and seat belt law is up to $50. Police officers can enforce child passenger safety penalties when they find you have violated state or federal child restraint laws.
However, the officers must determine the child’s age and height to confirm the type of restraint they need. Arizona drivers can fight these charges in court if they believe the officer’s assessment was unlawful.
Do You Need a Tempe, AZ Car Accident Attorney?
Sometimes accidents occur even when we take the greatest safety measures. You need a Tempe, AZ, car accident attorney to help you file a report, gather evidence, and negotiate with the insurance companies. Whether it is a minor or severe car crash, The Sorenson Law Firm will fight to help you get the compensation you deserve from the at-fault party.